Project 5- Teamwork(The Drexler-Sibbet Team Performance Model)

To get the best out of our team, I decided to follow The Drexler-Sibbet Team Performance Model.

Drexler

www.bergdoll-consulting.com/style/images/Drexel.jpg

I chose to go with this model because it offered different stage markers for team and project development. It also illustrates the positive and negative outcomes of each stage. This meant that throughout the project, I could keep referring back to it to make sure things are running in accordance.

The model is split into two phases, the creating phase and the sustaining phase. At this stage of the project I only focused on the creating phase with the intent of referring back to sustaining phase at a later stage. Throughout out this workbook I will be making reference to this model.

Stage 1- Orientation [Why am I here?]

My purpose in this in team is to offer and execute creative intellect by visually representing the story and branding of my client’s fashion product. I will working together and for my team member to best achieve this.

Stage 2- Trust Building [Who are you?]

‘Studies have shown that team members spend almost 70 per cent of their time running down other colleague’s suggestions.’ (Pricken, 2008)

With that in mind, I will be following the DreamTeam Framework by Pricken (2008) to make sure that I am the best me for the team.

I will:

  • Choose the right moment for criticism
  • Ping-pong with ideas
  • Prevent idea killers by avoiding mental censorship (putting a halt to my creative instincts)
  • Eliminating idea killers such as “Forget it, it doesn’t work!” and turn them to positives.
  • Look for the positive in my client and team member’s ideas
  • Develop a sense of humour and experience  ‘A Fool’s Freedom’- the ability to laughing at one’s self and mistakes.

(Pricken, 2008)

In the future, this is a model I would definitely consider using in a much larger team if working for a company or for myself. Being able to use this model at this stage will offer good training for future employment.

REFERENCES

  • Krogerus, M., & Tschäppeler, R., (2008). The Decision Book: Fifty Models for Strategic Thinking. London: Profile Books Ltd.
  • Pricken, M., (2008) Creative Advertising: Ideas and Techniques from the World’s Best Campaigns. London: Thames & Hudson.
Leave a Reply

